Travel read to must read


There are books that I have carried around with me in times of travel and never read more than a page or so of them.

I usually carried them either because they were light weight or seemed interesting to read (most obvious) for the trip.

R.K. Narayan’s selected essays was one such victim to this habit of mine. Recently when I made a week long trip with friends I transferred this book from my previous travel bag to the one I was packing. This was an unconscious act.

It can be compared to one of those strong medicines you carry in case something terrible happens. Here the terrible thing would be ‘boredom’ while travelling.

Fortunately, I have never been bored while travelling.

But this time I made sure I read this book atleast before sleep. I did not want to be one of those people who possess something they never use it, but don’t miss a chance to boast about it.

And what have I realised from this deliberate act? That I was carrying one of the most amazingly written book around for almost two years without even reading it!

Not only is he a fantastic writer, but, R.K. Narayan writes on so many mundane topics and gives it such an interesting twist.

It is almost as if he holds a quirky mirror in front of items like umbrellas, school, memory, cars, music, library, beauty pageants, etc. and gives a different view of it.

There was a chapter that gave me tears as I laughed.

What did I learn from this? That I have perhaps missed so many books like these by dumping them on my ‘ligh-weight’ travel list.

*goes and finds other books kept away*

image

Leave a Reply!

