Amal ghazal (Rahi Nagufta)


Amal is a movie that is a genius on its own.

It has a scene where Naseerudin Shah sings a ghazal. Actually sung by someone else. But it translates as this and is one of the most beautiful poetry I’ve ever come across. It will bring tears to my eyes no matter how many times I hear it.

Here is the link

rahi nagufta mere dil mein dastan meri
na is dayar mein samjha koi zaban meri

barang-e-saut-e-jaras tujh se dur hun tanha
khabar nahin hai tujhe ah karwan meri

usi se dur raha asl-e-mudda jo tha
gai ye umr-e-aziz ah rayagan meri

tere firaq mein jaise khayal muflis ka
gai hai fikr-e-pareshan kahan kahan meri

diya dikhai mujhe to usi ka jalwa “Mir”
pari jahan mein ja kar nazar jahan meri

Meaning

“My story remained untold in my heart,

no one understood the essence of my words, in this world.

I have stayed far from my real purpose,

my beloved life has gone wasted,

no one understood the essence of my words, in this world”

Leave a Reply!

